Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

Painting in the mold - Paint Question

Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Painting in the mold - Paint Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2004, 02:52 AM
N2EC
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Painting in the mold - Paint Question

Guys, I wanted to paint a fuselage in the mold...i have tried the epoxy paint and it works well...i was wondering whether I could use high quality enamel automative paint...will the paint get transferred well to the composite and are there any other issues which I should be aware of.

Thanks.
Old 12-23-2004, 04:27 PM
Mike James

Default RE: Painting in the mold - Paint Question

Since I'm an amateur on this subject, let me be the first to kick things off...

I've painted a fair number of parts in molds, but only one color, or two-color "fake airbrush" looks with soft seams...no fancy schemes. Most of the time, I was limited by budget or time issues, and simply used what was on hand. Here's what I've found.

The chemical composition of the paint only seems to matter if it will actually be the outside layer, meaning that you would be spraying right against the PVA. If you're using a clear coat of any kind, (presumably fuel proof) then you have a lot more flexibility with the paint, because the clear coat protects it, and epoxy on the inside will stick to almost any paint.