Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

HELP: Problems with West Systems 209 Hardener

Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

HELP: Problems with West Systems 209 Hardener

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2008, 12:48 PM
ardrhi

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP: Problems with West Systems 209 Hardener

Hello Everyone,

I have never used West Systems before. (Great at wetting out by the way....) Anyway, I ordered their 209 hardener, with the anticipation that it would give me plenty of working time. (I had no idea....) The problem is this: I am having some concern over a spar that I have laminated with 209 mixed West Systems Epoxy. The temperature in our house is around 68 degrees. The issue I am having, is that 72 hours later, the epoxy is still gummy. When I say gummy, I mean that it resembles gumdrop gummy to jolly rancher candy hard. Is this normal? I mixed the resin at a 3.5 to 1 WEIGHT ratio, using a gram scale. (I was VERY precise on my measurements.) Additionally, I have hit the spar several times with a heat gun. (Lightly enough to avoid foaming and bubbling the resin.)
Needless to say, I ordered the 206 hardener. However, the CF/aircraft ply spar has about 16 hours of work in it, and cost me some 200 dollars. I would rather not loose it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Am I worrying prematurely? Maybe this is normal for 209. Does this hardener really take this long to set up at 68 degrees?

Regards,

Chris Berrett
Old 06-23-2008, 01:32 PM
soarrich
My Feedback: (98)

Default RE: HELP: Problems with West Systems 209 Hardener

No, you've got a problem.[:@]
Old 06-23-2008, 03:12 PM
KC36330

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

for 209, the cure time is 4-9 days.

EDIT: the MINIMUM temp is 70 degree as well. it's intended for use in high humidity and/or high temps, not in the house at 68
Old 06-23-2008, 03:40 PM