Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

Vertical stab, how do I attach to composite fuselage? HELP!

Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Vertical stab, how do I attach to composite fuselage? HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2009, 06:10 AM
tenacious101010
My Feedback: (97)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vertical stab, how do I attach to composite fuselage? HELP!

HELP NEEDED! I am new to building with a composite fuselage. I have no instructions but need ideas on how to attach the built up vertical stab to the Composite fuselage.
I have an American Eagle BT-13 fuselage and am building the vertical stab and rudder from balsa. I am not sure if I could attach it flush to the stub of the fuse except for the spars extending into the fuselage or cut out the opening and insert the sheeted stab into the opening. I would appreciate any suggestions on how to put this together. Pictures would be a great help!
Thanks, Denny
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf99437.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	29.7 KB
ID:	1304192   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ni23800.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	35.5 KB
ID:	1304193  
Old 10-29-2009, 07:41 AM
Ed Smith

Default RE: Vertical stab, how do I attach to composite fuselage? HELP!

I do not have pictures because I am not doing one right now. Here is how.

Remove the top surface only of the fuselage fin fillet. Make the balsa fin 1/2 longer with the extra length at the root. Sand or file this extra length until it slides into the fuselage stub. Align, glue and blend.

Done.

Ed s
Old 10-29-2009, 08:54 AM
KC36330

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

just glue it directly to the fiberglass, extend only the spar and TE into the fuselage and support it/glass it in. if it works on our 200+ MPH jets it'll work on your -13
Old 10-29-2009, 10:42 AM
tenacious101010