Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

bought newF2D set question...

Reply
Old 10-12-2012, 11:05 AM
  #1
ehelibuff
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default bought newF2D set question...

I have a few wings I bought new. 3 of them appear normal with leadout lines from inside. I have a another one that has the bellcrank on the outside of the wing with a strange set up. Same wing as the others, but set up different. How do I hook it up and why is it made this way, when it's the same wing as the others? Here are some pictures to compare together and see what i'm talking about.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51769.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	106.6 KB
ID:	1810551   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zu65343.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	181.4 KB
ID:	1810552   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pu51015.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	59.7 KB
ID:	1810553   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ey71414.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	1810554  
ehelibuff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 02:54 PM
  #2
paw080
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 210
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: bought newF2D set question...

Quote:
ORIGINAL: ehelibuff

I have a few wings I bought new. 3 of them appear normal with leadout lines from inside. I have a another one that has the bellcrank on the outside of the wing with a strange set up. Same wing as the others, but set up different. How do I hook it up and why is it made this way, when it's the same wing as the others? Here are some pictures to compare together and see what i'm talking about.

Hi ehe,

I always hated external control set ups on Combat designs. They are the result of the designer/builder being too lazy to install

an internal control system or a means to switch lines to a backup. The Combat model will fly better with internal controls.

Choose whichever system you prefer... I guess I hate the mounting of an external fuel bladder as well. maybe the fuel shutoff

centrifigal weight sytem attaches in there someway??

Tony
paw080 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:07 PM
  #3
ehelibuff
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: bought newF2D set question...

Well, funny thing is, there's the mount inside the wing, but was converted outside. I can't see that it was recovored though. I was told it was the newest set up regulation, but have a hard time believing that. I thought it would screw up the flight as well. Should I cut the plane open, install it where it belongs and recover it? I was told the lines go directly to the bell. They pop on. Sounds like they will pop off just as easy..Sounds half-assed to me. What should I do? I haven't flown it yet....
ehelibuff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 06:42 PM
  #4
greggles47
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 521
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: bought newF2D set question...

It may have been changed to fit a fuel shut off.

Greg
greggles47 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:21 PM
  #5
R Bush
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 10
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: bought newF2D set question...

The external black bellcrank in your first picture looks like a type widely used to prevent flyaways in the event of a line cut. This sort of device is a requirement for safety reasons at many contests. It also helps save your equipment.
The fuel line is routed through the hole. If line tention is lost after launch, the spring will pinch the tube shutting down the engine.
I'd guess if you searched "CL combat fuel shutoff" you might find instructions for its operation.

Randy



R Bush is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:27 PM
  #6
ehelibuff
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: bought newF2D set question...

The bellcrank has a cut off built into it apperantly. There's a spring in it. It's really odd. I'm trying to search it.
ehelibuff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:35 AM
  #7
Bob Mears
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: bought newF2D set question...

Thats an H & R shutoff. The airplane originally came with internal controls. Shutoffs are now required in F2D and Fast 2D events. And in seatle (where this shutoff is manufactured) they do not allow swing arm shutoffs, so a bellcrank system must be used. They work very well (I designed this type of shutoff and H & R copied it, with my permission). I've flow airplanes with this setup and I cant really tell much difference in flying abilities. Unfortunatly, you will have to make longer lines, or just build a set of leadouts for the airplane
Bob Mears is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:11 PM
  #8
ehelibuff
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: bought newF2D set question...

Oh.. Ok, so there's no worries then. I was so confused when I got this scratching my head looking at how it was set up. I'd like to keep all my lines the same, so i'll just add lead outs for it. That way I can fly my others with the same lines. Glad to hear it will fly fine.
ehelibuff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:35 AM.