Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

Can I use an RC engine for CL?

Reply

Old 08-06-2017, 03:41 PM
  #1  
JPMacG
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ivyland, PA
Posts: 2,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Can I use an RC engine for CL?

Our RC field is affected by the FAA Temporary Flight Restriction surrounding the Trump Golf Course in Bedminnster NJ. Usually the TFRs just last a weekend, but the most recent is a long one - almost all of August. So some of the club members are thinking about trying CL at our RC field. CL is not prohibited by the TFR.

I have not flown CL in about 45 years, but I remember liking it as a kid. We can put a CL model together in a few days and we all have spare glow engines with RC carburetors. Is there a reason not to use these for CL? We are thinking of just a simple mechanism to allow manual adjustment of the throttle. Crack it open a little to start the engine and then set it to full throttle to fly. Or is there something that we are overlooking?
JPMacG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 04:20 PM
  #2  
JPMacG
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ivyland, PA
Posts: 2,273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

OK. I see that this question has been asked and answered many times. I found my answer with a search. My apology, I should have searched before posting.
JPMacG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 05:05 PM
  #3  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Yes you can and my preferred setup is an RC engine with a conventional clunk tank. I currently am using an OS .40FP, OS .35AX and a Saito .30FS all throttled engines. Actually I do not bother with dead ending the throttles but instead use 2.4 radio and utilize the throttles. those endless touch and goes made possible by that is a true joy.

John
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 05:15 PM
  #4  
straitnickel
 
straitnickel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: pikesville , MD
Posts: 436
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sure can, I replaced the carb. with a Venturi and spray bar on my os40la. A Great running engine
straitnickel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 09:12 PM
  #5  
clscale-Fred
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Here is another solution, install a bellcrank and an elevator servo. If you wan to fly RC have the elevator pushrod connected to the servo. If it is connected to the bellcrank it's a CL model. All of my models except for the speed models have throttle control and they are a typical RC glow or electric setup. install the leadout guide and wingtip weight if flown as a CL model.

We are allowed to use 2.4 Ghz with CL so I use a typical RC transmitter and my scale models have a 2.4 Ghz receiver in the model.

Fred Cronenwett
clscale-Fred is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 05:27 AM
  #6  
Flypast111
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Wink

Glow Engine Operators - if you prefer a venturi (Needle Valve Assy) carburetor set-up ... then see BRODAK, JUST ENGINES or MECOA for their line-ups of venturis (NVA's) or search for other web-based sources for such parts. You will need to know the engine case carburetor mount bore (usually in mm) and some NVA mounting information for your specific application. My experience has been that most RC carburetor glow engines will respond very well to such conversion treatment.
Flypast111 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2017, 12:25 PM
  #7  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,387
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Of course the very easiest , method of using an ex RC engine (something that is becoming more and more common these days as the perceived disadvantages of doing so is for most almost imperceptible) is illustrated in the first photo, a simple rubber band and a few seconds later you are ready to go. Alternatively the second photo shows another simple extenstion on the throttle arm with a band around the fuselage to secure your settings.. This method makes starting easier and opens up a selectable performance control.

Of course like clscale-Fred above using a modern 2.4 system is almost effortless and opens up the sport of controlline unlike any other advance over the years.

Although I have a rather large hanger of RC craft I do keep active with a Magician, Skylark, Nobeler, Ringmaster Jr, Ringmaster S-2 and a old school Bearcat carrier plane. Of those six, all are absolutely equipped with throttled RC engines and of those three are operated with 2.4 systems. The Bearcat is a three line system and will stay that way (and excellent reminder to the superiority of the 2.4 systems. The Ringmaster S-2 being the newest to my controlline hanger for now the new Hirtenberger .25 RC is just fixed throttle I will soon be adding a 2.4 set up.

John
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ringmaster S-2 throttle.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	2.54 MB
ID:	2246462   Click image for larger version

Name:	RingMaster A (2) (Medium).JPG
Views:	55
Size:	62.5 KB
ID:	2246463  
JohnBuckner is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy