Community
Search
Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

Sig Banshee question

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2016, 12:27 PM
straitnickel

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sig Banshee question

I'm no expert by any measure so, What would be the engine size and line length to make the Banshee easily controllable but sporty too?
Old 11-29-2016, 03:23 PM
gene6029

Received 20 Likes on 9 Posts

LA .46, or Brodak 40 on 60' lines. Check out Stunthanger.com or Stuka stunt for lots of information on the Banshee.....Gene
Old 01-18-2017, 11:00 PM
Donald Holder

Move the wing 2 inches forward is a big help on Banshee! Nose is to long! I have had several of them and this is good advice, also consider making it electric too.
Old 01-19-2017, 07:07 AM
Tom Nied

Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts

I flew mine with a Fox 35 Stunt with the Hemi Head, stuffer backplate and tongue muffler. 4 ounce uniflow tank. I did shorten the nose 1.75" but could have shortened it even further, I had to add some tail weight to make it "pop" a little sharper. I flew on 60 foot lines.
Old 01-19-2017, 10:38 PM
Lou Crane

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

straightnickel,

Check the other recommended comments.

The SIG Banshee was designed in the days of 6 1/4 ounce Fox 35s, w/out mufflers, on light wood props. Most modern engines weigh more, plus the weight of the muffler. (The nose is too long for today's power!)

By the way, the Banshee and Twister use the same basic wing. Both fly well, and can be tweaked to fly better with today's gear. Differences are in the wingtips and fuselage...

Adding weight to balance the modern power systems, and using a tamer engine runs into practical limits on the wing and tail layout. Best advice I see in other posts so far is to move the wing forward, Not simple, but keeps a good relationship with the tail. As long as there's room for a 3.5 or 4 ounce tank, most problems are answered.