Community
Search
Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

Hand launch blues

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2003, 07:09 AM
DoubleUgly

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hand launch blues

OK Kids I am new to the C/L world (been in it for 2 months) and started with the "trainer" 1/2A Baby Lightning Streak. Can anyone explain to me why she without fail always comes in towards the pilot and crashes every time. The last time breaking the engine a black widow clean off and essentially ruining the plane. This is more than frustrating. I built the kit per specs and had the 1/4 oz weight in the outboard wing. She had both rudder and engine off set to pull outside and the lines where as per spec 35 ft. long. The hand launch was from about 5 feet up lines tight and thrown like a dart straight ahead. All she simply did was bank in towads me (the pilot....guy holding the handle sence it did not fly) and then corkscrewed right into the ground. I am now building a Jr. Lightning Streak but I am not too modivated right now due to the ZERO flight time I have had with C/L planes. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong???? Thanks

D.
Old 10-08-2003, 08:44 AM
catdaddy2

Default RE: Hand launch blues

Are you launching from downwind? Never takeoff into the wind with a 1/2a CL plane.
Wind should be at your back. Have you tried ROG? If so, was it the same results?
Old 10-08-2003, 09:01 AM
Bigiron13

Several questions here. Where are you launching the plane in relation to the wind? What type of lines? Dacron or steel and what diameter if they are steel? What prop and is the engine putting out plenty of power? (it should be able to almost pull the plane straight up ).