Community
Search
Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

Brodak Magician

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2006, 07:42 PM
MrSteve09

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brodak Magician

Hi All,...

I just picked up the new Brodak Magician kit from my local hobby shop. I've been collecting and building Magicians for a couple years now. I have the plans for the Midwest Magician and I picked up a Golden State Models Magican kit at a local auction.

I was quite surprised to notice that the Brodak Magician is significanly smaller than the Midwest and Golden State versions. The Midwest Magician has a wing span of 48 inches with an area of 488 squares. While the Golden State is exactly the same the new Brodak version only has a wingspan of 43 with an area of 407 squares.

Does anyone know why the Brodak "Original Magician" would be smaller?? Was the Midwest kit of a larger later design??

Other than the size issue,... the Brodak kit looks excellent!! All the balsa parts are laser cut. The plans are expertly drawn and, like all Brodak kits, the instruction manual is top notch. Certainly is a quality product, well worth the money and investment!!

Sincerely,
Steve T.
Monson, Massachusetts
Old 10-20-2006, 09:13 PM
Black Arrow

Default RE: Brodak Magician

I have an original Midwest Magician kit that I bought in the mid 60's. It has a 48 inch wingspan. I don't know if that helps you date things or not. I liked the Magicain because it flew slower than the Ringmaster.