Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

Sig Buster

Old 11-01-2006, 10:03 PM
ptulmer
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sig Buster

A friend popped up with a Sig Buster. Saying he was too busy with other projects, he asked me if I'd like to build it so we could both fly it. Well, I had a Cox .15 Sportsman that needed a unique home. (you don't waste an engine like that on an ordinary airframe!) So here the kit sits on my desk. Not too many parts here! I should be able to get this guy built pretty quick, but I've no real experience with C/L kits. The instructions have a little blurb about finishing, but it leaves more questions than answers. They recommend painting straight onto the sanded/sealed wood. I'd always heard that the balsa would eventually split doing that. It will be painted, not filmed. Can I use Sig Koverall or is it unecessary or just plain ol' too heavy?
Old 11-01-2006, 10:20 PM
Elwyn

Default RE: Sig Buster

I just covered mine with several coats of Rustoleum. It might not be very resistant to higher nitro fuel though. Mine just has an old Fox 15 running mild fuel so that hasn't been a problem.
Old 11-02-2006, 12:34 AM
NorfolkSouthern

I had a Sig Buster with an O.S. 15 engine, and Alkaid enamel worked best for me. I went to Sherwin Williams and purchased a product similar to Rustoleum, but don't remember the brand. It's an oil based high-gloss, and the color matched the photo illustration well. I brushed one coat with a china bristle brush, then let it dry for 24 hours. Then, I brushed a second coat and it turned out nicely. The Sig Buster is an excellent flying plane, but don't expect it to be a stunter. It's best suited for strait flights, and it gets up to a good moderate speed. It's really too bad I had to sell mine, but those are the breaks.

NorfolkSouthern
Old 11-02-2006, 12:35 AM
NorfolkSouthern