Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Control Lines
Reload this Page >

C.G. Location on a scale model

Community
Search
Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

C.G. Location on a scale model

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2007, 01:12 AM
EF

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Default C.G. Location on a scale model

Looking at my Ryan STA kit as an option for my first CL scale model, I noticed an instruction to move the C.G. location forward when flying it on CL vs. the location to be used for flying it RC.

Is this unique to the Ryan or is this done to all scale models converted from RC to CL, and if so - why?
Old 09-01-2007, 07:13 AM
Phlip

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: C.G. Location on a scale model

I'm not an expert, but I think it's done to all C/L models. It has to do with the difference in the way the plane flys with the lines connected ... the plane has to pull on the lines and track around the circle, but without looking like it's flying sideways.

Phil
Old 09-01-2007, 07:37 AM
da Rock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Only interested in scale CL?

I've only built a few, but the last came from my drawing board. And I've flown more than one scale model for scale builders who needed help on maidens and for trimming. And flown a ton of stunters, and a bunch of racers (trimming there pays big dividends), and trashcans full of combat wings (pitch trim is very important). But scale trim can be very critical. It can let you carry lots more weight if you do it the right way. Not the common way, but the right one.

With scale CL, you usually do not need much out of the pitch axis of the model. They seldom do anything that even approaches tight corners. Most never wind up inverted. And the ones that do, don't do square corners to get there.

But there are two ways to get the model to be very "slow and steady on the handle". (seems there are often things that have two correct ways to do them)