Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Control Lines
Reload this Page >

R/C fliers can be so funny sometimes

Community
Search
Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

R/C fliers can be so funny sometimes

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2008, 02:57 PM
cutaway

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default R/C fliers can be so funny sometimes

So I'm out flying doing a wild "fly it like you stole it" demo for newbie guy who'd never seen a C/L plane before and one of the other R/C fliers at the field (who's been flying for several years) walks over to the C/L circle wanting to know what frequency I'm on ;->

Maybe one of the other guys sent him off looking for a left handed screwdriver or maybe he had radio problems and was looking for someone to blame ;->
Old 01-18-2008, 07:50 PM
Azcat59

Default RE: R/C fliers can be so funny sometimes

Hey Cutaway, I'm an old U/C stunt pilot, and now fly RC (don't hold it against me!), and especially with the current influx of ARFs almost ready to fly, you wouldn't believe how dumb some of the newbies are! We see fewer and fewer owner-built airplanes at the field anymore...too bad, they don't now what they are missing!

Clair Sieverling
AMA 15654
Old 01-18-2008, 08:47 PM
downunder

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I know what you mean. One day at the field I was running in an engine mounted on my portable work bench over by the car park to keep the noise away from the flight line. An RC guy asked me what frequency I was using for throttle control. Unbelievable.

Once when I was flying I was asked what frequency I was on but I knew he was just joking so I called out 21 metres .
Old 01-19-2008, 12:04 AM
cutaway

ORIGINAL: Azcat59
you wouldn't believe how dumb some of the newbies are!
Yea I would. We got a similar crop of'em.