Community
Search
Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

Tank location?

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2009, 01:20 AM
jayseas

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tank location?

I'm relatively new to c/l, my question is on the "profile" type stunt planes .I have noticed the tank is always mounted behind the engine forward of the wing. Why not put the tank in the wing and move the engine closer to the leading edge?
Old 12-29-2009, 01:26 AM
icerinkdad

Default RE: Tank location?

Mounting the tank in the wing has been done. There are a couple of issues... a tank leak is not good news for the balsa and can quickly ruin a model. Also many folks find themselves moving tanks up or down a bit to give the same engine run upright or inverted. That said some designs (like the flying wings used in combat) do always put the tank in the wing.
Bob
Old 12-29-2009, 01:44 AM
BtnFlyGuy

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There is also the issue of "balance". The plane should balance right about the thickest part of the wing and the engine is located closer to or farther away to maintain that balance. there is really nothing to the advantage of having the engine close to the leading edge. Most stunt planes have the engine mounted further from the leading edge even than sport planes. Some flyers contend this makes the plane smoother in it's overall response and not as erratic as, say, a flying wing or fast combat. If you ever saw me fly, though you could say it makes no bloody difference where i put the tank, the wing, the tail or the engine.. it's all going into the ground sooner or later. I'm a much better designer/builder than flyer.
The most important point in (an un-pressurized) tank placement is to have the fuel pickup even with the jet in the engine venturi. Give yourself a means to adjust the tank since even a paper's thickness up or down can make a difference in the engine run.

Old 12-29-2009, 07:36 AM
icerinkdad