Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Balsa USA 1/4 Scale J-3 Cub

Just picked up this plane from a club member for free, it's a kit and he built it along time ago. The wings broke free at the fusalage other then that no damage. I will post on this thread of the rebulid and questions I have. I plan to recover the whole plane and paint it with normandy colors. I've never done this before so I will have lots of questions.

[MG]http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s276/PABEN07/100_3654.jpg[/IMG]

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Balsa USA 1/4 Scale J-3 Cub

Oh nice -
    some work to be done, but It should be able to be made into a really pretty model !

Gotta love free models....

"Any landing you can walk away from probably wasn't that exciting to watch"
    Sig Kadet Brotherhood #8

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Hi PA BEN
    You mention it is a 1/4 scale. In my book that usually means it is large, about 80 inch wingspan. Is that about right? I notice that the wing was not removable. It looks like it was glued in place. How do you get the plane to the field? Most planes that size have a removable wing. Am I missing something? I guess it can fit into a truck or van. Just realized that since I have always used a compact car to carry my planes, fitting it into a car is more important to me than to others. Good luck with your build.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

A VERY restorable plane, looks like.  Best of luck, I'll be watching with interest!
    ‘ǝʌısuǝdxǝ sΔ± dn puɐ dn sΔ± uʍop \'\'\'\'pΗΚ‡ΙΉΗΚŒuΔ± puɐ ʍo1 uǝΙ₯ʍ

Gallery