Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Crash & Rebuild
Reload this Page >

Please help on a foamy rebuild - major loss of power

Community
Search
Notices
Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

Please help on a foamy rebuild - major loss of power

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2011, 08:12 PM
tbonebrown

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help on a foamy rebuild - major loss of power

Hello folks,

I'm new to this hobby and have hit a wall for ideas. Seeing a wealth of knowledge out here on the forum and thought I would pick your brains for some help. I had a buddy try out my Parkzone F4F Wildcat the other day and he crashed it pretty hard, nose first. After inspection here is what I noticed immediately:
  1. one wing split in half about 3/4 of the way down.
  2. cowl was broke into pieces
  3. the prop was bent up
  4. Engine mount was cracked
Thinking it would be just an easy fix I bent the prop back...taped the wing real quick and threw it back into the air. Here is where it got interesting. There was really no power at all. With full throttle the plane would barely climb. I immediately brought it down for landing and brought it back to the "shop" for some home repairs.

I ended up putting everything back together via epoxy and it looked like it should work. I am waiting on a new cowl so that is the only thing that's really missing from the plane. I'm assuming it can fly without the cowl but I'm not sure what the issue is now. When I went back out today to fly it, same thing.....seems like it's running at full throttle and feels like there is quite a bit of thrust in my hand but the plane just does not want to fly when I put it in the air. I'm okay with it not flying true and gliding well but there is NO POWER at all. It can hold itself up but it won't fly more than a quarter of the air speed it used to.