Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

putting the GP cap 580 on a DIET!!

Reply
Old 10-05-2011, 04:32 PM
  #1
racelikustolit3k
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: inola, OK
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default putting the GP cap 580 on a DIET!!

hey guys, I am thinking of redoing the GP cap 580 as light as humanly possible..

what do you think can be done to the plane to pull some weight out??

1. the fuse is fully sheeted with pretty thick balsa and has ply formers on the inside
( I want to route all the spare balsa out )

2. the aileron is fully sheet and stupid stiff, so my plan is to run 1 7955 on the outboard location ( pretty close to the surface center )

3. I am running a hoss of a 3w80 xi CS on the plane.. it has a straight pipe on it right now un-goddly effin loud ( its what the original had to work with ).. its not up to the task of tossing the 30# plane around.. somehow someway I am going to run a tuned pipe on the setup..

it already has carbon stab and wing tubes and I am putting carbon gear on it right now..


any other DIET junkies out there that can throw out some good ideas

BRING EM ON!!!!!!!!!!


thanks jessie
racelikustolit3k is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 06:05 PM
  #2
aerobatixkid
 
aerobatixkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berwick, NS, CANADA
Posts: 439
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: putting the GP cap 580 on a DIET!!

DA-85 & can, ign & rx 2s lipo , w/ smartfly dual reg, cf prop, cf spinner, should save a bit of weight
aerobatixkid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 06:09 PM
  #3
racelikustolit3k
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: inola, OK
Posts: 189
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: putting the GP cap 580 on a DIET!!

I am running a 3w 80xi CS just as much power as the 85 and TWICE as smooth..

and carbon prop are pretty heavy.. I will be running a vess

and I run only lipo's in my planes.. no need for a reg
racelikustolit3k is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:53 PM.