Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Crash & Rebuild
Reload this Page >

Lanier Explorer 40 Trainer Repair

Notices
Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

Lanier Explorer 40 Trainer Repair

Old 02-08-2012, 03:13 PM
TotalWreck

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lanier Explorer 40 Trainer Repair

I did not crash it. But being I'm new to planes, never flown anything other than electric & nitro helis. (Basics No 3D) But can fly helis up right pretty good Thought I'd rebuild this trainer and a couple more someone give me. Just to learn how to repair. I've built many things from wood over the years, so wood working is in my blood.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ig11715.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	457.3 KB
ID:	1724785   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xs58677.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	459.4 KB
ID:	1724786   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lq38213.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	441.8 KB
ID:	1724787   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ib82101.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	459.3 KB
ID:	1724788   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ni24725.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	455.7 KB
ID:	1724789   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw59028.jpg
Size:	455.9 KB
ID:	1724790  
Old 02-08-2012, 05:26 PM
N1EDM
My Feedback: (2)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Lanier Explorer 40 Trainer Repair

I think that you can repair that OK, but it's going to take a lot of work - consider it to be a chance to have fun. The first thing I would recommend is to ensure that the wood is dry and oil free where you want to glue or attach covering. If you can't do that, consider getting a kit. It's frustrating not to have a secure glue joint or have the covering falling off. Don't let anyone tell you that it's OK to attach to oil-soaked wood. It's not, and it won't be safe.