Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

Modifying an existing plane to something else (rebuild&remodel)

Reply
Old 07-30-2012, 02:32 AM
  #1
JariV
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Klaukkala, FINLAND
Posts: 267
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Modifying an existing plane to something else (rebuild&remodel)

A fellow flyer from our airfield crashed his CMP North American AT-6 Texan on approach 4 weeks ago and gave the wreck to me.

This is what the airplane was originally with an 82" wingspan.
http://www.nitroplanes.com/atte16082arf.html

I fixed it and decided to modify the plane at the same time to have a look like a fighter/Reno racer. I never cared so much of the looks of a Texan as it is because it is not a fast plane.

I moved the main wing 2 3/4" forward, cut and turned around the canopy and shortened it, new front fuselage with 1 3/4" added length, new firewall, new cowl and all the relevant stuff. Then some paint and bla bla bla.

I gave the airplane a new name which is North American Texan Interceptor. So this was a rebuild. And also a re-modelling.











JariV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:56 PM
  #2
RC MANIAC119
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: muskegon, MI
Posts: 941
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modifying an existing plane to something else (rebuild&remodel)

VERY NICE REBUILD!!!
RC MANIAC119 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 02:00 PM
  #3
foodstick
 
foodstick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ankeny, IA
Posts: 5,349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modifying an existing plane to something else (rebuild&remodel)

AH ! kitbashing!

one of my all time favorite building techniques...

love your vision of this plane, very unique... you won't have to worry about another one showing up at the field.
foodstick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 05:15 PM
  #4
JariV
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Klaukkala, FINLAND
Posts: 267
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modifying an existing plane to something else (rebuild&remodel)

Thank you for the comments. Glad to get that kind of a feedback.
JariV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 05:41 PM
  #5
RC MANIAC119
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: muskegon, MI
Posts: 941
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modifying an existing plane to something else (rebuild&remodel)

Now, hang a DLE 55 on the front of that BadBoy and hold on to your hats!!!
RC MANIAC119 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 04:11 PM
  #6
SrTelemaster150
 
SrTelemaster150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brasher Falls, NY
Posts: 3,578
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modifying an existing plane to something else (rebuild&remodel)

It would really look bad @$$ if you clipped the wings now.

Take 2 bays off the ends & extend the ailerons in 2 bays? (to the inside edge of the orange)
SrTelemaster150 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 07:54 PM
  #7
JariV
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Klaukkala, FINLAND
Posts: 267
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modifying an existing plane to something else (rebuild&remodel)

You have the same taste with me. That is what I have been thinking but wanted to be sure before I actually do it.
JariV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 03:16 AM
  #8
SrTelemaster150
 
SrTelemaster150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brasher Falls, NY
Posts: 3,578
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modifying an existing plane to something else (rebuild&remodel)

Quote:
ORIGINAL: JariV

You have the same taste with me. That is what I have been thinking but wanted to be sure before I actually do it.

From the location of the control horns it would be a simple job. Just clip off 2 bays, fabricate new wing tips & fabricate the new ailerons as they will be deeper @ the inside end. No need to re-locate the servos. A simple 1 (rainy) afternoon modification.

BTW: That cowl reminds me of the original FW-190A (1st) prototype.
SrTelemaster150 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 11:38 AM
  #9
RC MANIAC119
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: muskegon, MI
Posts: 941
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Modifying an existing plane to something else (rebuild&remodel)

Don't clip the wings....it's ready to fly. Hang a 55DLE on that bad boy!!
RC MANIAC119 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:54 AM.