Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

So, I rebuild my Travel air only for it to fall out of the sky. And so here we are..

Reply
Old 12-06-2013, 08:05 AM
  #1
carl24bpool
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 287
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default So, I rebuild my Travel air only for it to fall out of the sky. And so here we are..

So I just posted a thread of me repairing it after buying a damaged plane.

During test flight the plane lost all control and fell from the sky in a downward spin. The plane was for a friend so I used his battery and receiver. It turns out the battery he gave me had previously been in a very bad crash in which a concrete wall was involved. Anyway I think the previous crash pulled the power lead loose from the battery on impact. Its hard to tell as it could of been this impact but its the only clear reason.

So here are the bits:



I'll add another post shortly with details of the rebuild. The fuse it a case of patching together and refitting the servo tray but the wing has suffered massive trauma in several areas where I will need to strip back and rebuild some parts.
carl24bpool is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 09:18 AM
  #2
raptureboy
 
raptureboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kempton PA
Posts: 2,595
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sorry for the loss, some lessons are hard to learn. I guess if you like a challange you can rebuild but arfs are cheap and my time is worth more than trying to rebuild this wreak. Unless it's brand new, discontinued or really special, I chuck them and start over new or buy a good used one. If this is the same radio gear from the previous crash then I would chuck it also.
raptureboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 06:04 AM
  #3
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,814
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You don't say what brand radio you were using or the voltage of the battery. If everything worked then I doubt it was a battery connection at the cells. Did you check the battery under load? I don't think I'd be so quick to accept the bad connection theory
jetmech05 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 03:59 PM
  #4
carl24bpool
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 287
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raptureboy View Post
Sorry for the loss, some lessons are hard to learn. I guess if you like a challange you can rebuild but arfs are cheap and my time is worth more than trying to rebuild this wreak. Unless it's brand new, discontinued or really special, I chuck them and start over new or buy a good used one. If this is the same radio gear from the previous crash then I would chuck it also.
The loss is of no concern to me really. It's part of the learning curve.

my time is also worth more than the plane. I could buy another with a couple of hours wages but to me part of the hobby is building and repairing. I find it develops skills and keeps your mind healthy. I also enjoy the sense of achievement when you get a plane back to like new after spending a few nights on the building board.

ill add some repair pics later.
carl24bpool is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2013, 04:01 PM
  #5
carl24bpool
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Blackpool, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 287
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetmech05 View Post
You don't say what brand radio you were using or the voltage of the battery. If everything worked then I doubt it was a battery connection at the cells. Did you check the battery under load? I don't think I'd be so quick to accept the bad connection theory
It was 35mhz Sanwa radio gear.

what makes you think it wasn't the battery connection if the battery was in a previous crash?

After stripping the the battery down id say it was the battery which resulted in total loss of control.
carl24bpool is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 08:52 PM
  #6
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,814
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Because if it had been a connection at the cells I think you would have noticed the battery being intermittent. Hard to believe that you could mount the battery and keep a loose connection intact. If you didn't check your battery voltage under load then my money would be on a depleted battery
jetmech05 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 08:58 AM
  #7
bikerbc
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SorrentoBritish Columbia, CANADA
Posts: 2,018
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sometimes we can stall a plane put it into a spin and it seems like we have lost all control.. What were you doing at the time when you lost control ? There is a difference between lost control and loss of connection . Is it possible that you lost control and not connection ? I know that I have done that . Some planes will stall at a fairly high speed . If you are turning and pulling up elevator and suddenly the plane drops a wing and you cant get it to respond to any control inputs that is likely a high speed stall .
bikerbc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:14 PM.