Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Crash & Rebuild
Reload this Page >

Folding wing

Community
Search
Notices
Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

Folding wing

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2005, 07:05 PM
rdmonster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Folding wing

When I got home from work this morning it was dead calm so I got in two flights with my Frog. It's a homemade foamy and a sweet little flyer. As I'm still learning it has taken some tough shots the last few months but despite looking like a tape display it still fly's just fine. When I got up for work today it was a little windy but still O.K. to fly. I put her up got some altitude did a few loops just as I had done this morning and then started to cruise around. I was about 80 or so feet up over my back yard neighbors house when the wing just gave way and folded in half. It fell like a stone and landed on their roof. I went around the front of their house and it was hanging out of the front gutter. I got it out with a rake and saw the wing had just ripped almost in two.The crash also ripped off the JST connector on my TP lipo so I'll have to fix that.The plane is a total loss but since I have plans for the Frog I will build another one.After I fix the battery I'm going to put it in the E-flite ultimate I recently built and get some more time on that beutiful bird!! I've only flown it three times.
Old 04-09-2005, 07:28 PM
RC-Captain

Default RE: Folding wing

LOL I feel more sorry for your neighbors, I could only imagine what they where thinking when the plane hit the roof I'm not going to give you the 10th degree on flying ethics, I'll let someone else do that, but please try to be more careful in the future for the sake of all RC pilots.