Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Crash & Rebuild
Reload this Page >

2nd crash in 2 months, MY FAULT not giving up tho

Community
Search
Notices
Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

2nd crash in 2 months, MY FAULT not giving up tho

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2005, 11:33 PM
FlyinSooner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2nd crash in 2 months, MY FAULT not giving up tho

great day to fly in Oklahoma today. Took my 2nd plane, Hangar 9 Solo Sport out to the field as I do every day. Calm winds, not a cloud in the sky.

I got a total of 6 flights in today, the last two being crashes. I was actually getting proficient at inverted flight in this HIGH dihedral plane. Found out that it wont just nose over when it stalls tho, It will spin to the left EVERY TIME. No problem, being a full scale pilot i at least know the recovery procedure.

Having great fun spinning, tightening them up then recovering, inverted flight all the fun stuff, w/ a .51 on it I was able to hover a bit.

NOTE: we've been having many more radio hits at our field the past week.

First Crash: great taxi, smooth slow ascent rate take off the it suddenly went vertical, continued the loop to inverted then i got it back, leveled the wings and tried to bring it in. It banked toward me and dove for the ground from about 50ft. She slammed the runway nearly flat, bent the nosegear back and debladed the prop. It ballooned back up, engine sounded like complete crap (horrible unbalance) so i chopped the left stick, and glided in for a smooth landing. as i walked out to it, the flight controls were goin crazy (my receiver is fine) radio hit from hell

fixed the nosegear, replaced the prop, range checked. let it sit w/ the tx rx on, no interference.