Community
Search
Notices
Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

Treed!!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2006, 03:20 PM
mcoulter

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Treed!!!

I'm not sure if you'll find "treed" in the dictionary, but I think most of you know what I'm talking 'bout.

First of all I'm quite new to flying. This is my 1st plane and I've really enjoyed jumping into the sport. Not long ago I decided to start bringing in the plane to work with me so I could sneak a flight or two in before going to the office. This particular day I wanted to return to a field what was great for flying.... however the groundskeeper kicked me out to a secondary field not quite as big. [>:]

I decided to go for it (yes I'm new at this).

The plane was not up for more than a minute when a stiff breeze brought me over a tree line [X(] I **almost** got it back to my side of the tree line when I went the wrong way on the throttle and it lost a bit of altitude and nailed a tree. I now know that this tree was an Eastern Cottonwood, which apparently is "[link=http://www.treehelp.com/trees/poplar/poplar-types-eastern-cottonwood.asp]one of the largest eastern hardwoods[/link]".... Yeah it was every bit as big as the 75 to 100 ft it's alleged to grow. And my plane was right at the very top.

At the time it seemed like a good idea to use the prop to try to blow it out of the tree. Well I just managed to wrap a ton of leaves and small branches around it -- basically ensuring that it would weather a hurricane before blowing down. So here I am, I gotta leave for the office and I'm seeing my $100 flapping in the breeze at the top of a tree. Let's just say I'm a little distracted at work thinking about how to get my toy back. Here's what I did over lunch...

-- The branch that my plane is hanging from is about 100' off the ground, it's too big to shake, it's too small to climb out on... I gotta find a saw.