Community
Search
Notices
Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

how to fix

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2007, 01:36 PM
joco1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how to fix

wrecked my nexstar last nite and tore the belly ! im a newbie and never tried repair work before any suggestions?[img][/img]
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv63047.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	29.9 KB
ID:	757055   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gc91529.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	28.7 KB
ID:	757056   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lq38996.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	33.0 KB
ID:	757057   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kd90074.jpg
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	757058   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jv14853.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	27.8 KB
ID:	757059  
Old 09-05-2007, 01:47 PM
joco1

Default RE: how to fix

also i would like to repair as quickly and easily as possible so i can get back to flying!
Old 09-05-2007, 02:18 PM
tlgibson97

If I was going to fix that I would cut the skin and covering out to the the next solid supporting structure (stringers, bulkheads, etc.) cleaning up the hole so it isnt ragged. I would splice in what looks like the broken stringer, reskin it, and put a covering patch over it.

Nexstars are pretty rugged. You could probably fly iy with just some covering or tape over the hole but I would want to do a good repair so there arent any doubts. You could also reinforce any splices just for good measure but a small repair like that probably wouldnt be necessary.

This advice is just coming from what I see in the photos so anyone with any nextar experience may be able to help more. generally in a repair if you replace whtever is broken and the joints are good then you shouldnt have any trouble.
Old 09-05-2007, 02:29 PM
nothinbetr2do