Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Crash & Rebuild
Reload this Page >

first flutter problem

Community
Search
Notices
Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

first flutter problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2007, 08:11 AM
bigchap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default first flutter problem

i experienced my first flutter incident today,i've been flying for 7 years so it came as a bit of a shock!i re-propped my nemesis to get some more speed and this is the result,it was flat out at an estimated 80 mph when i saw bits fly off,i cut the motor and the model came down horizontally just like a dethermalised free flighter,an easy fix but i think i'll get the glass and cloth out to make it stronger before i try again.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq47973.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	782631  
Old 10-14-2007, 08:19 AM
bbbair

Default RE: first flutter problem

I Don't know if that was 'Flutter' or 'Structural Failure'.

Making any AC go faster than design specifications will cause 'Problems', from your photograph your plane seems to be a Foamy - no problems - but there are definate limits to this type of plane.

IF you wish to fly at 80 mph - you will have to buy/build a plane that can withstand the stresses envolved.

That being said; the fact that you were able to land that plane is quite the feat!

Well Done!
Old 10-14-2007, 08:34 AM
bigchap

all i did was go up on prop pitch,i am using the recommended motor and lipo but this model is obviously close to the edge with the recommended prop and i overstepped the mark,thanks for the compliment on the landing but i didn't land it!i cut the power,it scrubbed off speed real quick and just hovered in horizontally,no other damage at all.i heard a flutter type sound just before this happened but structural failure could be the cause,i don't suppose it matters much as the airframe was dirt cheap!