Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

Reply
Old 09-01-2009, 03:32 PM
  #1
jabar145
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

I just got the F4U Corsair by parkzone a couple days ago. I got a few flights on it, but this morning I forgot to tighten the wing screw enough.
When I was just about finished flying,coming in for my approachat 15 feet, the wing ripped right off the plane! It drove straight into the ground while the wings were still flutteringin the air.
What a shame.
Update- I have now removed all the electronics from the fuselage and am awaiting my parts order. Does the LiPo in the picture look safe to use? It got misshapen in the crash, but not punctured. I am yet to recharge it due to the damages. (It still works fine)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Zw69537.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	143.2 KB
ID:	1267130   Click image for larger version

Name:	Av69713.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	149.5 KB
ID:	1267131   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl28684.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	53.5 KB
ID:	1267132   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hc93454.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	46.5 KB
ID:	1267133   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lq37409.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	116.5 KB
ID:	1267134  
jabar145 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 05:49 PM
  #2
aerowoof
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke, NH
Posts: 2,891
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

some elmers glue will fix it right up
aerowoof is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 05:57 PM
  #3
jabar145
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

I was going to do that but ended up just ordering a new motor mount, canopy, cowl, batteryand fuselage. I was lucky enough to get a freebrushless motor from Horizion Hobby (Thanks!).
Do you think some epoxy would fix a motor mount and the front of the fuselage?
jabar145 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 08:11 PM
  #4
lejongleur
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

Actually I have fixed my PZ Typhoon using Gorilla glue. Once I trashed it to the point of snapping the fuse in half. I gorilla'd it, taped everything tightly until dry, trimmed off the excess glue, and voila! good as new.
lejongleur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 08:20 PM
  #5
speedy72vega
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 721
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

I use 5 min epoxy and clear packing tape, works great also. As far as the mount is concerned, I wouldn't trust glue. They're inexpensive enough to just pick up another one, no sense in risking a good plane to save a few bucks, just my .02 cents.
speedy72vega is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 11:44 PM
  #6
lejongleur
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

Oh, absolutely - don't repair an engine mount (the one for yours costs $3.29). I was thinking you wanted to reattach the mount to the front of the damaged foam fuselage, that's why I recommended Gorilla.
lejongleur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 11:23 AM
  #7
shurlock1
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: south river, NJ
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

Yeah use some elmers glue with some duct tape that will work. If it wont stay together use a hose clamp.
shurlock1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 11:24 AM
  #8
shurlock1
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: south river, NJ
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

The propeller is bt the wall you didnt fly it in the house did you?
shurlock1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 01:41 PM
  #9
jabar145
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash



Haha, no.
That was from my first flight; prop hit the ground and snapped. I just threw it by the wall.

jabar145 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 03:49 PM
  #10
RC Flier
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seymour, IN
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

Guys, I need some help. My new PZ Corsair is now together and battery charged, but the throttle won't work.......what now?
RC Flier is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 05:29 PM
  #11
lejongleur
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

Any noises from the ESC when you plug in the battery? If not check the connection between ESC and motor (with the battery OUT of the circuit.) Also, I'm sure you made sure that you turn on the receiver first, set throttle to zero, then power up the plane?

Hope this helps. My apologies if this advice is too simplistic...Chris
lejongleur is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 08:03 PM
  #12
speedy72vega
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 721
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

Also, when the plane crashed, did you remember to put the throttle all the way down right away? If not, you might have burned the ESC. When the prop hits the ground and stops, the motor will draw a huge amount of amperage through the ESC if you don't put the throttle down immediately. Can you turn the motor by hand freely?
speedy72vega is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 10:55 AM
  #13
divelife20
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

Wow that crash sure beats minebut the plane is beautiful! For some of my previous crashes, I've used crazy glue, modeling cement, and packing tape... Depending on how you use it, your plane could turn out good as new.
divelife20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 02:31 AM
  #14
amc72
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: topeka, KS
Posts: 94
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

Wow looks like Mine after my crash monday. How'd it come out?
amc72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 07:55 PM
  #15
hrhodes3
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: crescent city, FL
Posts: 2
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: My Stupid F4U Corsair Crash

I need a ar500 for my bl mustang . 
hrhodes3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:12 AM.