Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

MAAAANN NOT AGAIN!!!

Old 10-24-2009, 07:55 PM
Vincef18

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default MAAAANN NOT AGAIN!!!

So I have been flying for the last 3 years and its been awesome. I recently bought a QUICKIE 500. Put it together... strengthened the joints, balanced it and man it looked cool. Winds were out of the North so thats the direction I took off. After leaving the ground it seemed like it didn't have enough aileron authority to stay straight and level. I know it was balanced laterally as well. It wouldn't come left. tried to slow down and land it but it hit the ground and... Man it disintagrated! Im so mad. I put so much time and effort into it and now I can't even figure out what happened to learn a good lesson. Times like this... I just want to quit! My goal is/was to eventually get into Jets sometime this next year. I have had so many uneventful flights. Now I don't know what to think. Any advise... I feel so frusturated!!! Thanks for the help... []
Old 10-24-2009, 08:58 PM
TedMo

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: MAAAANN NOT AGAIN!!!

I have had so many uneventful flights. That statement seems to say something wrong with my radio, batteries, or lack of ability. Do you range check? Do you properly charge and check batteries?
Old 10-24-2009, 09:12 PM
Vincef18

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback

Well, I did a range check, antenna down and about 100' away, I charged the battery and checked the voltage prior to takeoff. The winds were at 7 Knots gusting to 15. It seems like this was maybe the contributing factor to lack of control authority. Thanks for the reply.
Old 10-25-2009, 06:44 AM
ScottMcM

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback