Digital Video (DV) & Video Editing Software Discuss the use of digital video which we use to show our rc stuff off on the web. Talk about products, editing software, tips, ratings, rendering to the web, etc

Windows Movie Maker

Reply
Old 07-26-2008, 09:52 PM
  #1
TraxxasTrucks
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: den, NJ
Posts: 31
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Windows Movie Maker

I don't know what the rest of you use, but the past couple of versions of Windows Movie Maker is capable of doing everything I need it to do. Video editing software is so expensive today I just can't justify buying something when you get so much with this program. Comments please
TraxxasTrucks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 05:07 AM
  #2
jgeck90
 
jgeck90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
Posts: 678
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Windows Movie Maker

I say its okay. Thats all i have at the time but i will be getting CS3 soon which comes with lots of stuff for video editing.
Download Photostory 3! I really like it. There is only a few things different you can do, like you can make it zoom in on someone's face or your R/C truck. If you have a mic you can add a voice message. For example when your savage shows up you can say "This is my savage with a march .28" etc....I usuall just add my pictures, do the transitions, and skip the option of adding a song and save it. I then go to windows movie maker and add the videos to it, and the music. I then add it to windows DVD maker and put the "cover" or whatever you want to call it, where it shows the start option, and the scene's option.
jgeck90 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 06:12 AM
  #3
MinnFlyer
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Windows Movie Maker

Movie maker is pretty good. I use Adobe Premiere because I need to super-impose copyright info and I don't think MM is capable of super-imposition.
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 07:16 PM
  #4
AirmanBob
 
AirmanBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 490
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Windows Movie Maker

Movie Maker is really good. You can lay your camcorder on it's side
and record ( I use the 'Flip' Ultra ).

Then Movie Maker can flip it and rotate it back to normal. It's great
for that and much more.

AB
AirmanBob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 01:17 PM
  #5
Bretuk
 
Bretuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: S.Wales, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Windows Movie Maker

Is there anyway to play and edit mpeg4 videos from a digital camera with Windows movie maker.
Bretuk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 01:46 PM
  #6
guapoman2000
 
guapoman2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,643
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Windows Movie Maker

I have enjoyed Microsoft Movie Maker for several years and have edited "almost" all of my Videos with it but, the only thing that I do not like is this program somehow is impeded with the MS OS and depending on what Microsoft OS version your computer is operating it might have different results / options.

I have an HP Pavilion 760n, model number P6320A (Originally came with 120G HD, 512G RAM) and operating with Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition. Somewhere along the line the Microsoft Movie Maker STOPPED working and the video editing software comes up for a few seconds to only give me an error saying there was "An Error Occurred and Program Shutting Down"

I have tried restoring the computer to an earlier date, nope that did not work, I have since bought new memory a 2700 series 333 / 400 speed 1.0 Giga-Byte DIMM module and that did not help.

I finally was able to figure out how to create complete "Recovery" CD's all 9 of them and have yet to issue the Recovery process as I like to try several other things.

When you go to Microsoft Web Site it tells you that you need to install:

Download Instructions

Movie Maker 2.1 is available for download with Windows XP Service Pack 2 (SP2). You can download SP2, Movie Maker 2.1, and all future critical updates automatically by turning on the Automatic Updates feature in Windows XP.

Well, I have and still nothing!!!!!!![>:]

I just don't know why MS does this and has MM part of the OS?? I think that I have loaded all the way to Service Pack 3 because my OS is the 32bit running version and anyway there's no SP3 for the 64-bit version of Windows XP. You would think that all these MS Auto Updates would fix my Movie Maker, NOT!!!

I am considering buying another separate Video capture and editing Software as it has been my experience that MS MM is just too flaky!!

Carlos
guapoman2000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 01:33 PM
  #7
stw9495
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Loretto, KY
Posts: 46
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Windows Movie Maker

Windows Movie Maker is my love/hate affliction. It seems everyone has had some problem with it crashing, being slow, not rendering properly, etc. I also hated how I had to convert my clips. Now that I'm using Ubuntu, I miss Movie Maker, because it has an interface like no other, I guess. It was easy to use and easy to manipulate to get pretty good movies, and in conjunction with Wax 2.o pretty cool effects. 

Now there was on other thing I meant to say and I now I can't think of it. :/ 

Oh yeah, WMM limits your outputs! You have no choice to keep the exported movie the same quality as the raw files. The newer WLMM is a bit better but abandons some of the more useful features and the timeline bar...so it's a tossup. 

Right now I'm using Openshot because Kdenlive bugs out on me every time I try and use it. 
stw9495 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 11:53 AM
  #8
VitalStar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: , MA
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Windows Movie Maker

I don't use Windows Media Player because I like to have lots of export options and be able to control the video quality very well. With WMM it's very hard to get good quality without getting a huge file. I used to use Ulead Media Studio, until it was discontinued. Now I use Adobe Premiere Pro CS4, which i've come to like very much.
VitalStar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 08:58 AM
  #9
jak_kkaall
 
jak_kkaall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: , ROMANIA
Posts: 95
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Can we save to computer in windows movie maker at other resolution besides the two options available 640x480 and 720x5..? I've got an Canon that films HD and I would like to continue using movie maker.
jak_kkaall is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 07:30 PM
  #10
collector1231
Moderator
 
collector1231's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: A place in a place.
Posts: 4,101
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I don think so jak. I recommend a Sony Movie editor, like so; http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...=REG&A=details
I use it, and it was easy to learn, nearly bug free, and can render in a number of resolutions.
collector1231 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 01:50 AM
  #11
jak_kkaall
 
jak_kkaall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: , ROMANIA
Posts: 95
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thank you. I will try it and maybe I will also try pinnacle 14,16... So far I used movie maker and in the past pinnacle 9 but it crashed a lot, maybe because of my PC. I don't know if I'm allowed to post videos here. This is made with windows movie maker although not the best resolution. 18 min, a little long I know..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bGyoiWCIg2g
jak_kkaall is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 12:46 PM
  #12
engelik
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

openshot seems pretty cool, but if you feel the need for more adobe premiere is the way to go
engelik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 03:59 PM
  #13
Chosen4
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I give my voice to Hitfilm Express 2017, it is free and you can export even 4K resolution videos out. Mostly Basic features are really easy to use, I make my first video after looking 20 minutes tutorials videos from Youtube.
Chosen4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:25 AM.