Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Draganfly Innovations Products
Reload this Page >

Newbie questions and observations

Community
Search
Notices
Draganfly Innovations Products Discuss all the Draganfly Innovations Products in this forum

Newbie questions and observations

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2006, 08:50 PM
TheHindmost

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie questions and observations

Hi folks,

[This got longer than intended...Anyone who actually reads all this has my thanks!!]

Newbie Draganflyer V ti owner here! (Half of you just groaned out loud, the other half said "fresh meat!!" ) I have spent some time perusing this board before posting. Really cool videos, Sky High!

It all started when my wife and my son decided that the perfect Valentine's gift for me would be an X-UFO by Silverlit. I immediately became hooked on the whole concept of four-rotor 'copters. But, I'm totally new to RC flying (I do hold a real fixed-wing pilot's license, currently inactive; that experience doesn't help any!). My first X-UFO had a gyro failure within the first three flights (yeah, there were a few crashes, but nothing too bad, and I'm pretty convinced the final crash was caused by gyro failure, not the other way around). So we returned it and got another one which has been pretty good. I've had some transmitter issues and one bad crash which legitimately took out a gyro, but I replaced the gyro and the X-UFO is flying fine. But, it's not really good for outdoor flying. It just doesn't have the control authority to deal with any kind of real wind. And the battery life is not great (about 5 minutes on a full charge, if you're lucky). And of course, no camera. While reading these forums about the X-UFO, I saw everyone mentioning Draganflyers, so I checked out their web site. After watching their videos and recovering from a bit of sticker shock, I decided I just had to have one!