Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carduff, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    55
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Archos PMA400 for video recording

    Hi,

    I got a SAVS camera mount on my DFV and having failed to get my Sony DV to talk to the Rx, I was wondering if anyone has any comments on using an Archos PMA400 with the output from an Eyecam?

    Cheers

    Nick

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    85
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Archos PMA400 for video recording

    Nickruss,

    I am currently using the Archos AV500 with my SAVS unit and I really like it. I am sure the Archos PMA400 would work fine with your SAVS camera.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Carduff, UNITED KINGDOM
    Posts
    55
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Archos PMA400 for video recording

    great, so there are no issues with low quality of the video? What settings do you use re: resolution etc.?

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    salt lake city, UT
    Posts
    168
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Archos PMA400 for video recording

    Anyway of posting some video taken with this unit? Thanks, Scott

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    85
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Archos PMA400 for video recording

    Scott,

    These two videos were recorded with my Archos AV500.

    www.netline.ws/dragon/fallspark7.wmv

    www.netline.ws/dragon/parkridge6.wmv

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Posts
    85
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Archos PMA400 for video recording

    Scott,

    Sorry the links do not work. You can find these the links under the topic of "SAVS Videos".

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,514
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Archos PMA400 for video recording

    nickruss, does your camera have a Video IN option? Most cameras have to be in the VCR/VTR mode to accept video input.
    Up there, you don\'\'\'\'t have time to think, if you think, you\'\'\'\'re dead!
    Never mess with an aircraft with more rotors than you

  8. #8
    ElVela's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Coslada-Madrid, SPAIN
    Posts
    40
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Archos PMA400 for video recording

    I actually use a PMA400 for recording.

    There are 2 resolution modes:

    - To make videos to see them in the built in display: (MODE LCD: 320*200)
    - To make videos to see them in TV: (512*384@25fps DivX 4.12 on PAL. May be slightly different on NTSC mode or adjusting the input from Auto to 4:3, 5:3, 16:9, Panoramic 2.35)

    The quality is good for home use, but for a pro a DV format is a must. The quality modes are:

    - Low: 1500kbps of video
    - Medium: 2000kbps of video
    - High: 2500kbps of video

    Audio recording is at 48000 Hz Stereo. MP3 Encoded. Don't remember the bitrate. (useless for DF )

    Another controls:

    - Bright
    - Contrast
    - Saturation
    - Color
    - Video time (hour) programming. Useful to record from TV when not at home, but useless with our DF.

    Pros: Very portable and good battery time.
    Cons: The base must be connected to have the Video Inputs (no external power required). If the signal is lost (or very bad) for a pair of seconds the PMA400 automatically splits the video in other file.

    I recompress all videos coming out the Archos because they are big (aprox 37Mb per minute) so I don't have any to post exceping one taken with low battery in the camera (I use a camera that needs a 9V battery) so there's a lot of interferences [].

    When the wind calm down I'll shot a video and post 5 or 10 seconds of it, but notice that my onboard camera is a S***T. [:-]


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.