Community
Search
Notices
Dub Jett Engines Support Bob Brassel of Dub Jett Engines provides direct support here for Jett Engines.

Would SportJett .46 Be Good for This....?

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2012, 07:12 PM
Deandome
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Would SportJett .46 Be Good for This....?

I'm a newbie, but one who's looking to get a plane, radio & motor that will be fun well beyond my 'training period'...be it on my current plane (Goldberg Sr. Falcon) or a more acrobatic one down the line.

I was thinking an OS 55ax would be my best option, and it still might be (I have a line on a barely-broken-in one at a great price). But if that deal falls thru, I see that the SportJett .46 is on clearance now for $250. So the question is...forgetting price...would the Jett function well on my Sr. Falcon, as I train and then start to learn aerobatics?

Or is it more of a high-revving racing engine that's not well suited for this purpose...you know, like putting a custom modded/ported Novarossi .21 buggy engine on a T-Maxx (for those who get that analogy)? One of the things I'm worried about/wondering about is the prop size; people are telling me to run an 11x8 w/the OS 55, but the Jett is best suited for a 9" or 10" prop

Please be honest....I don't have any problem hearing that the Jett wouldn't be the best option, but if you think it would work well for training & sport flying, let me know.

Thanks!
Old 02-23-2012, 04:21 AM
bob27s
My Feedback: (19)

Default RE: Would SportJett .46 Be Good for This....?

Thanks for writing...

Short answer is certainly the SJ46 will work great in the Sr Falcon. Quite honestly it is one of the best sport engines ever designed. Very versitile. [&:]

Jett engines are powerful and some are designed for speed applications, but the Sport Jetts are very user friend sport engines. Great idle and transition, easy to start.