RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Dub Jett Engines Support (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/dub-jett-engines-support-115/)
-   -   SJ50 with H9 Phoenix 7-will it work? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/dub-jett-engines-support-115/10649396-sj50-h9-phoenix-7-will-work.html)

nhblacksmith 08-01-2011 08:17 AM

SJ50 with H9 Phoenix 7-will it work?

I want to learn pattern flying and just purchased a Hangar 9 Phoenix 7 ARF. I don't intend to compete (at this point) but want to be able to fly the classic pattern maneuvers. Since I already own a new SJ50 and two used ones I would like to use one of these engines in the plane but I'm not sure if they are adequate or can be propped correctly. I'm a newbie at this so I would like an experienced opinion on any deficiencies in flight performance with this combo. My thoughts were that if the SJ50 doesn't work, I could later upgrade to an SJ60L without having to modify the cutouts in the fiberglass fuse. I will be using the Jett tuned muffler, not a pipe. Thanks for any help.

Neal in NH

bgw45 08-02-2011 07:43 AM

RE: SJ50 with H9 Phoenix 7-will it work?

I have a bunch of questions also. I would like to have a SPA legal plane. This might fit the bill for me since I don't want to build. The manual suggests an Evo .60NX. I'm thinking, since I can't use a pipe, that an OS .55 AX might be more reliable as far as throttle transition goes. Would it be legal? Would it be enough engine for the airframe. I know the OS 55 is about 2 oz. heavier than the Evo .60, but lighter than a .91 FS ( the only one I have in my stable is a Saito ).

Is anyone actually flying this airframe in SPA? What is your set-up and what would you do different?

bob27s 08-08-2011 09:19 AM

Sorry for the delay.... was on vacation :)

Actually, properly set up, the SJ-50 would work well in the P-7. Most people do not realize the torque this beast really has.