Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

Battery Recommendation for T-33

Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Battery Recommendation for T-33

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2003, 02:23 AM
secretspy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery Recommendation for T-33

I'm new to electrics in general. I have a Kyosho T-33 that has been laying around that I just finished. I feel it is a bit underpowered with the stock AP29L motor and the 7-cell NiCd 2000mah battery on it, and it only lasts about 5 minutes in flight. I'm thinking about getting a Hacker B-40 brushless motor and a LiPo battery pack to increase power and endurance, and decrease weight. I would like to keep the same speed control if possible, a JETI jes500.

What battery would you recommend? I really dont know how much current it draws right now, but I could find out with the help of a friend. I have heard that flights can be as long as 25 minutes with the right combination, but if charging time is too long then that's really no use to me. Is there any way I can get at least 10-15 minute flights, with charge times in the 1-hour range (or less, but it sounds like an hour is the best I can hope for).

Also, what happens if I got the battery but kept the existing AP29L motor? Would flights still be longer?

I've read through several of the posts here, including the "history brief," but any additional advice, recommendationsm or anything that anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated. I'm looking to have fun here, not wait around for my batteries to charge.
Old 10-04-2003, 08:16 AM
Greg Covey

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Battery Recommendation for T-33

Hi,

You are right, the early Kyosho electric planes and jets were all dogs.