E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

power supply question for Accucell 6?

Reply

Old 05-16-2012, 05:08 AM
  #1  
DaveFri
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lancaster, KY
Posts: 80
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default power supply question for Accucell 6?

Can anyone recommend a reasonably priced power supply for Hobby King Accucell 6 charger?? Need a AC source for this DC charger?
New to electrics so please bear with me if i am asking the wrong things.Just need to plug the Accucell into the wall and have it charge my batts in a reasonable fashion.Haven't actually purchased the Accucell yet...just getting my info together

thx,Dave
DaveFri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:47 PM
  #2  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: power supply question for Accucell 6?

I made mine from an old computer power supply. Just search it in RCU and bring some snacks, you will be reading for a while.
vicman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 01:13 PM
  #3  
jdetray
Senior Member
 
jdetray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Napoleon, OH
Posts: 1,617
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: power supply question for Accucell 6?

Hi Dave -

Since you mention "new to electrics" you might not want to convert a PC power supply, although they do work well for powering our battery chargers.

For an off-the-shelf solution, a power supply such as this one from Radio Shack will do the job:
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2103960

It's more than you need for the Accucell 6, but you'll never regret having more capacity than you presently need.

For a lower cost solution, this Pyramid power supply would also work:
http://radioproshop.com/pyramid-ps/ps8kx.htm

Good luck!

- Jeff
jdetray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 07:43 AM
  #4  
jbbuggs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: power supply question for Accucell 6?

What do you think of this set up I am building a C17 globemaster auw around 25 lbs 4 100a ecs 2 1600kv 85a edf motor.do you think i need to use a batt. for each motor or can i use 2 batt. one for two motors . at 175w per lb. of weight. thinking of useing 6s 5000 20 C each or can i use less because i have 4 motors.       Can anyone help me with this
jbbuggs is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service