Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

Newbie LiPo Charger Question

Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Newbie LiPo Charger Question

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2015, 06:27 PM
BJFlyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie LiPo Charger Question

Hi everyone! I'm very new to RC flying. Got into it because I got my pilots license a few years back and have been too busy to get back into it.

I ordered an Apprentice S15 last week. I ordered a spare battery (OEM) and I'm trying to figure out a easier way to charge it rather than hooking up the jumper cables to my car. I ordered these two items from Amazon in an attempt to resolve my issue:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Problem is, the charger is only 1.8A output compared to the charger that came with the plane that is 3.0A.

Any suggestions for a charger that I can plug into my wall that will suffice? I've also read that you aren't suppose to leave a LIPO fully charged for over 48 hours. How are people monitoring the charge levels in each cell?

Thanks for the help! Very excited to get into this hobby!

Edit: Using the charger I bought of Amazon, I've been charging 1 of my batteries for about the last 45 minutes. I went over to the charger, and all 3 cell indicator lights were still green. I unplugged the battery and plugged it back in and they all turned red. Did I mess the battery up?

Last edited by BJFlyer; 07-27-2015 at 06:39 PM.
Old 08-01-2015, 05:49 AM
Quorneng

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post

BJ Flyer
The fact that the lights went red again was simply the charger had started charging again. As soon as the voltage rises back to the 'stop charging' level they will turn green.