Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

4 motors,1 speed control ?possible?

Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

4 motors,1 speed control ?possible?

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2003, 06:32 PM
V12DRIVER
My Feedback: (13)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4 motors,1 speed control ?possible?

I am not too experienced in electrics and currently converting a Boeing 747 slope glider for electric power. I have already installed 4 GWS EDF-50 fans hooked up to a Wattage IC550 speed control. The battery that I used to test this setup was a 7 cell nickel-metal hydrate 730mah. When I go full throttle, the motors cut off. I would appreciate any info and opinions from any one with knowledge. Thanks in advance!

BTW the speed control is rated for 30 amps , 50 burst
Old 12-09-2003, 08:12 PM
scott88-RCU
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: 4 motors,1 speed control ?possible?

totally possible, but you need to make sure you don't burn out your ESC with too much draw. If these are brushed motors then yea you can do it. If you don't know the amp draw of the EDFs then look it up at www.gws.com.tw and they have many data tables showing amperage on different props. Good luck.
Old 12-10-2003, 10:05 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Simple answer: You're drawing too much current from the battery. Each of those fans draws 2.5 to 3 Amps. Times four, that's 12 Amps total. A 730mAh NiMH pack is only good for about 6-7 Amps.