Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Shorted Lipo pack??

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2005, 04:11 AM
Ultimutt

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shorted Lipo pack??

Hello,

I am brand new to electric R/C so a fellow flying club member who supposedly "knows all about electrics" and I were soldering Dean's micro connectors onto *my* new Apogee 830 3 cell lipos and he was using a alligator clip stand to hold the connectors while he was soldering. The Deans micros require that you connect the plugs together before soldering to keep them from being damaged. I had done the same a few minutes before but I had plugged the pack into the connector on my charger, and he had just plugged an unused connector into his while he soldered, which he apparently does all the time (seems like that's not a very good way to do it!). In any case he must have moved the connector enough with the soldering iron to cause the connector to pop out of the clamps, I looked over and saw a small and very brief spark as the connector brushed up against the stand for an instant as it fell. I then saw the connector he had plugged in with the two pins exposed and wasn't all that surpised what happened. I am new to Lipoly but have read a bit about them and took the battery to the battery bunker. I noticed nothing wrong, no heat, smell, swelling, or anything. . . but I am worried about the pack and wondering what I should do with it. He didn't seem to think it was too big of a deal since the short was for such a brief duration, and the pack wasn't warm. . . but maybe he just felt guilty. In any case I am pretty bothered with the situation and am not sure if I should use the pack, or if there is a way to know if it's a problem or not.

Thanks,

Bryce
Old 02-12-2005, 05:23 AM
AgCat1982

Default RE: Shorted Lipo pack??