Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

How long should it take to charge my new LiPos?

Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

How long should it take to charge my new LiPos?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2005, 11:58 PM
elwoodkinder

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How long should it take to charge my new LiPos?

I hate to ask such a stupid question but being a complete novice to the electric scene I have to ask-Just how long should it take to charge my new Etec 11volt 1200ma LiPo batteries? I just purchased a new GP Triton charger and a complete package from Fancy Foam (by the way, great service and plane too). I have been charging the two sets of batteries individually of course and it has been taking every bit of 90 minutes to charge each pack. I have been using the 1.2 amp setting as recommended. I purchased 2 packs to lessen the wait time between flights but with only 12 minute flights at best I am still waiting a good hour and 15 minutes just to get to fly again. I have flown nitro for the past 20 years and this electric stuff has renewed my spirit; but I like to fly and not just talk. Any ideas? I realize I could go with a larger pack but geez won't I just add more charge time? Few fellas in our club are flying electric and since I seem to be the test subject I really don't want to let the other guys down.
Old 03-25-2005, 12:02 AM
INeedHelp
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: How long should it take to charge my new LiPos?

That sounds about right. I would think your run times would be longer though unless your into the throttle alot.
Old 03-25-2005, 02:41 AM
elwoodkinder