Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

Lesson learned: Lipo's really ARE dangerous

Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Lesson learned: Lipo's really ARE dangerous

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2005, 09:19 AM
twinturbostang

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lesson learned: Lipo's really ARE dangerous

First off, I'll just mention nobody got hurt. But for any other newbies, it's a good idea to check this out..

I'm fairly new to electric flight. Bought a couple of lipo batteries for use in my planes. I see warning and caution labels everywhere concerning lipo maintenance, storage, and use. I figure... yeah whatever. How bad can they be right? If they're so dangerous, then we would not be able to purchase them for use in model aircraft, right??

Well, they are dangerous. Was flying my plane yesterday with a new brushless outrunner and lipo combo. I had (notice past tense used here!) a 3S 2100 lipo in it. At one point in the flight, I was doing a high bank turn. The battery door in the plane opened, and the battery litteraly ejected from the plane!! This was about 200 ft. above ground. All I could was watch the battery first fall and smash into the ground, and then the plane did a nose dive not too far away from the battery crash scene.