Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

balancer??

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2006, 08:46 PM
Mitty

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default balancer??

Good day guys.
Lipo balancer??I am new to the eflight.Please anybody explain me what is lipo balancer.And what is balancer leads on the battery pack for?I saw on the web description of one of the packs mention one of those balancer tabs..Please explain...

Thanks !

Mitty
Old 05-05-2006, 08:29 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: balancer??

Basically, "balancing" is the process of charging each cell in a pack individually to keep them all at the same voltage for best performance, best safety, and best battery life.

Like any type of battery, the individual cells in a LiPoly do not discharge evenly during flight. Over many charge and discharge cycles, the difference between the voltages of individual cells in the pack get larger and larger. Some become overcharged, and some become undercharged. Overcharging a LiPoly cell is a Bad Thing(tm). It normally leads to cell damage and short battery life, but can also cause the problem of "silver sausages," where the cell goes bad and puffs up. Most serious of all is the potential for the cell to catch fire.

LiPolys are "stubborn;" they don't self-balance like a NiCd or NiMH because they don't self-discharge like a NiCd or NiMH. Each cell needs to be treated individually, at least occasionally, to make sure they are all "in balance," all at the same voltage.

Within the last year or so, manufacturers have started selling integrated balancing systems that allow you to balance packs every time you charge, to maximize cell life and safety. This usually consists of a device called a balancer that simply discharges the high cells until all the voltages match, or a balancing charger that charges each cell individually.