Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

Help for a newbie wanting to modify

Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Help for a newbie wanting to modify

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2006, 12:35 PM
Mr.Pibb

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help for a newbie wanting to modify

OK, guys...a COMPLETE newbie question...

So my wife got me this for my birthday:
http://www.hobbyzone.com/rc_planes_h...rd_freedom.htm
That was yesterday...I haven't even flown it yet.

The geek Electrical Engineer in me immediately looks at the 8.4v 1000mAH NiMH battery pack and says "Even seven standard AA NiMH batteries should give me around 2000mAH, why can't I just make a pack out of those? It would be easier to charge, too, since I can just charge a bunch of them in advance"

OK, beat me up, tell me why I wouldn't want to go down this path. You guys are way more advanced in this area than I am, and I still don't know all the terminology used on this forum.
Old 05-05-2006, 01:00 PM
Chocks_Away

Default RE: Help for a newbie wanting to modify

Hi,
You are quite right, 7 standard AA's will do the job at 2000 mah, with the added bonus of twice the flight time..

Now heres the bad bit

I don't know what sort of cells are used for the original pack, but it doesn't really matter.
What does matter though, is how much it weighs.

The original pack may weigh in at maybe around 120 grams.
If you make up a pack of AA's of 2000 mah each, they weigh something in the region of 30 gramms each.
Add 7 of those and voila, you have 210 grams of flight battery.

Now, some models may be able to cope with the extra weight with a small performance loss, but others, will just be too heavy to fly properly if at all.

It's a question of can it take the extra weight ?
My best estimate would be er, maybe not