Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Charging over 1C???

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2006, 05:35 PM
RcFlyer06
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Charging over 1C???

Hey all!
I'm new to li-po batteries. I'm working with an Apex 2200mAh 11.1V battery and a 2000mAh "Common Sense Rc" 11.1V battery. I've succesfuly charged (with a triton charger) and ran (in a t-rex with stock speed control and brushless motor) the batteries a few times. I don't want to wait so long for my batteries to charge, I've been read that you should NEVER charge over 1C. But I've talked to some people who regularly safely charge at as much as a 2C rating. Is it possible to safely charge a lipo over 1C safely? I've pushed the 2200mAh pack to a charge rate of 2.5 amps and it's doing alright, will it continue to be safe???
And just wondering, can lipos spontaneously combust or will it swell or leak first????
Thanks for the help!
Old 07-11-2006, 02:05 AM
guver
My Feedback: (325)

Default RE: Charging over 1C???

Lots of the time is the slow ramp-up of the triton and the slow ramp-down. I charge my SC 2000 at the max of 2.5 amps on triton.
Old 07-11-2006, 10:13 AM
jdetray

Many of the serious problems (fires, etc.) that have occurred with lipos have happened when they were being charged improperly, so charging at a greater rate than the manufacturer recommends would not be my choice.

Charging at high rates decreases the lifespan of lipos. Many people charge lipos at about 0.7C, which has been shown to increase the lifespan, compared to charging at even 1C. I haven't done the math, but it could be that over the long run, owning more packs and charging them slower might work out to be just as economical as owning fewer packs and charging them faster.

- Jeff
Old 07-11-2006, 12:14 PM
Chocks_Away