Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > E-Flight Power Sources
Reload this Page >

Running Dewalt Li-Ion in my Hobbico Electristar Select EP RTF

Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Running Dewalt Li-Ion in my Hobbico Electristar Select EP RTF

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2007, 12:19 PM
rick88ss

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running Dewalt Li-Ion in my Hobbico Electristar Select EP RTF

Hi there. I'm new to flying RC airplanes but decided to start with electric RC airplanes. The Hobbico Electristar looks like a pretty good beginner plane so I ordered one and should be getting it next week.

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXNVC0**&P=0

Besides using the 2 7S NiMH and 2 2S LiPo battery packs has anybody used the newer A123 Dewalt batteries in this plane? How many would be needed to run the motor safely? I wanna look into this option so I can get the right battery/charger combo once.

I think running 2- 5S A123 packs run in parallel is my best option. It will still be lighter than the recommended 2- 7S NiMH packs and a little heavier than the recommended 2- 2S LiPo packs.

If I buy a Dewalt 36V pack what are the other specific items I will need to make two 5S A123 packs. I also want to be able to balance charge both packs on the same charger. I need two 5 cell packs instead of one 10 cell pack because of COG concerns.

List of needed parts ??

- Dewalt 36V pack
- Heatshrink for 2 packs (what size?)
- 2 female Deans plugs with 12 gauge pigtails
- ?? (balance harness for batteries and charger?)
- Charger??

Which balance plugs(harness)?
What charger to charge both packs at the same time?

Thanks for the help and sorry for the long post

Old 06-08-2007, 10:31 AM
rmh

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Running Dewalt Li-Ion in my Hobbico Electristar Select EP RTF