Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

Set Up Help

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2008, 09:49 AM
wickman11

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Set Up Help

Hi Guys,

I am new to the sport, thus the beginner post...

I started on a 4 CH motorized glider (400 brushed) last year. I think I have the hang of it and really enjoy it.
Last month I bought the VMAR Bird Dog ARF and i need some help setting it up.

It is 43 inches span, 29OZ. The recc motor is a 100-180 Watt Outrunner. I picked up a 178 Watt / 3800 RPM motor.

questions:

1. Only some engines that are forsale provide power in watts. How do I find a similar power engine with different ratings? Should I get less RPMs for this plane?

2. How do I select a good prop for this bird? I am thinking more power and time aloft than speed.

3. Radio question: when buying a radio does the receiver and TX have to be the same MHZ, then jsut swap crystals to change freq?
Old 05-07-2008, 12:23 AM
jdetray

Default RE: Set Up Help

Looks like an interesting plane.

First, a couple of links, which you may find useful if you haven't seen them.

[link=http://www.rcuniverse.com/magazine/article_display.cfm?article_id=771]RC Universe Review[/link]
[link=http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=969]WattFlyer discussion thread[/link]

Your questions.
1. If the motor specs list maximum current (Amps) for the motor, you can easily figure watts. Power (watts) is current (Amps) multplied by voltage (Volts). Since you generally know what kind of battery you will be using (and therefore its voltage) multiply by the Amps specification of the motor to get watts.

Are you saying that your motor has a kV of 3800? That's much too high for direct drive on a plane of this type.