Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

LiPo idiosyncracies

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2009, 12:26 AM
Farmer Ted
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LiPo idiosyncracies

I don't know af anyone else has noticed this or perhaps I'm just nuts...

I have been flying for a few years and have charged many hundred (or thousand) a LiPo pack.

some things I've noticed that have never quite been explained:

LiPo packs are sensitive to vibration when charging...if you watch the charge voltage and handle the pack while charging, the voltage will jump all over the place. Even walking by the charger can cause enough voltage fluctuation to trick the charger into thinking the pack is done.

As my LiPos get more charges on them the charging voltage gets more and more unstable and tends to jump all over the place. My charger will graph charging voltage and I can see this really wild voltage fluctuation, at times the charger will just stop charging, saying the pack is full even though it's not. If I 'massage' the pack a bit or even slap it lightly on the ground and put it back on the charger the charging voltage will stabilize and it will be fine...perhaps something with the electrolyte/ chemical reaction in the pack?

aged LiPos typically need to be charged twice to get them 'full' (reading 12.6v)

I'm usually only getting 35-40 cycles out of my cheap Zippy LiPos before they puff or lose enough capacity that they're no longer practical to use.

For the record: I'm using a Duratrax ICE charger (essentially the same as the Electrifly Triton?) an Electrifly Equinox balancer, I charge at just under 1C for all my packs, never discharge over 20C (which is what the packs are rated at) and all of my ESCs have voltage cutoff set at 3 or 3.1v per cell...I don't feel I'm abusing the batteries at all.