RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   E-Flight Power Sources (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/e-flight-power-sources-126/)
-   -   Is balancing really necessary? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/e-flight-power-sources-126/4330890-balancing-really-necessary.html)

Rusty-Gunn 05-30-2006 03:59 AM

Is balancing really necessary?

Hello, I'm new to electric r/c planes, and have several li-poly packs, and Quick-Smart charger, from Batteries America. I've noticed in the r/c magazines, and r/c web sites, talking about cell balencing quite often, so I was wondering is it really necessary? Exactly how much longer can a pack last if balanced regularly? Is this a newly discovered method? (If it was previously known why haven't "they" produced cell belancing from the get-go?) Thank you.

Chocks_Away 05-30-2006 03:30 PM

RE: Is balancing really necessary?

Its not just about how long the pack will last if kept in balance, its a necessity so that your packs don't self destruct and possibly self combust, and that is no joke !
It is a more recent thing now to balance them, due to lipos being quite new technology, and now their potential has been realised, also the problems that have arisen, they have enough experience to know what happens to them if they are not kept within their limits.

The voltage in lipo cells must be kept very close, so that they don't become overcharged or over discharged.
they must be kept within their safe limit of minimum of 3v per cell and maximum of 4.2 v per cell.
Deviating form these figures damages them beyond salvage, and is likely to cause self ignition due to chemical reactions that occur inside these cells outside of their safe range.

Lipos are very dangerous without proper education in their use, and safety is paramount with these buggers, as they can be like a time bomb if mistreated.