Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > E-Flite Helicopters
Reload this Page >

"Crash Proof" Landing Gear Mod for Blade CP?

Community
Search
Notices
E-Flite Helicopters Discuss the line of E-Flite mini and micro helis including the Blade CP, CP Pro, Blade CX, etc

"Crash Proof" Landing Gear Mod for Blade CP?

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2007, 10:23 PM
scrappyheli

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "Crash Proof" Landing Gear Mod for Blade CP?

I just posted this message here: http://runryder.com/helicopter/t382098p1/ but thought folks on rcuniverse might have some experience with this as well.

================

I'm a beginner rc heli fanatic, who got sucked into the hobby when my step dad upgraded to the TREX and gave me his heavily used BladeCP. Now it is all I think about.

Even though I'm pretty cautious... accidents happen. So right now, the name of the game for me is modding to lower the cost of repairs. Once I'm confident then I may move onto modding for performance. Along these lines I'd been experimenting with using thick gauge wire as a way to create a non-rigid (and therefore non-breakable) landing gear so that on a rough landing, the landing gear "crumples". This could have two benefits [1] you can bend the landing gear to repair it and [2] the force of the crash is absorbed by the "crumpling" of the landing gear. Looking at this from the opposite perspective.. if you somehow made invincible landing gear out of an awesome unbreakable but rigid material then your landing gear might never break but the force of the crash might cause something else to break.

I finally put together something that seems to work and I'm wondering if anyone else has tried this or if it might be useful for others or what other people think. You can check it out here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NpVfLedkRkE