RCU Forums

RCU Forums (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   E-Flite Helicopters (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/e-flite-helicopters-447/)
-   -   MSR Wont fly forward (http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/e-flite-helicopters-447/11414029-msr-wont-fly-forward.html)

delabu 02-17-2013 10:01 PM

MSR Wont fly forward

Hi all,

I'm a bit new to helicopter flying and need a bit of help on an MSR. I can hover it fine - hovers around the house, no problem. My problem is during transition to forward flight. No matter how gently or harsh I try it to get to fly forward, it will pick up speed and then pitch backwards by itself. Giving more down elevator beforehand, only makes the backwards pitch more sever when it happens. I can keep it in the air for a bit when it comes back hard, but then it will roll to one side and trying to correc that will make it pitch forward again. This just gets worse and worse until it's tilted so far out of the horisontal that it ends up in a prang. It's like a huge big exaggerated toilet bowl effect, though it hardly suffers from TBE in the hover.

I'm not trying to break speed records - I'm talking trying to achieve walking speed forward flight. Not zooming around the garder like I have seen videos of people doing with this little helicopter!

I have tried both the short and long linkages and both the modes on the radio. They only make hovering more or less skittish. I can safely hover it in all modes and linkage settings.

Is it really me being a noob? I have really tried to gather speed really gently - to no avail. I have tried slamming the elevator forward (it just gathers speed more quickly, resulting in a faster and harder pitch back). In fact, I managed more forward speed with my old coax helicopter than with the MSR, which I'm sure should not be the case.