Electric Aerobatic & Sport Planes Discuss rc electric aerobatics and rc sport flyers here.

Can I replace stock lipo battery for Typhoon 2?

Reply
Old 02-27-2011, 08:37 PM
  #1
outacontrol41
Thread Starter
 
outacontrol41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Girdletree, MD
Posts: 1,808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Can I replace stock lipo battery for Typhoon 2?

My original lipo batteries that came with my Parkzone Typhoon 2 have kicked the bucket and they didn't seem to last very long. Stock replacement batteries are rather expensive (Parkzone lipo 11.1 volt 1800 mAh) so I bought a Thunder Tigre battery of the same voltage and type at a much cheaper price. Now the problem is that the stock lipo balancer / charger flashes error light when I try to charge the new battery. I set it at reccomended 1.8 a and it just won't charge. Not sure why since the Parkzone and TT battery specs are exactly the same. The cheapy stock charger did a great job charging the old PZ batteries that came with the plane. Stumped.
Anyway, the third photo shown here is my Hobbico Accu-Cycle Elite which is supposed to handle Lipo batteries up to 6 cells. Read the directions but don't quite understand how to hook the battery up and which end to charge ...the input end or output end. I haven't tried yet fearing damage to the battery. Any information offered here will be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx70053.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	67.7 KB
ID:	1571097   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ez82009.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	44.1 KB
ID:	1571098   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ax72816.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	57.4 KB
ID:	1571099  
outacontrol41 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 04:01 PM
  #2
Glacier Girl
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 7,906
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can I replace stock lipo battery for Typhoon 2?

Possibility the balance plug on your new pack is not wired in the same order as the PZ pack was.
Take a multi meter and read off the voltages on the plug. On a fully charged pack your readings should be 4.2/8.4/12.6
More then likely the new pack has the wiring flipped so instead of reading for example ground/1st cell/2nd cell/3rd cell, it's 3rd cell/2nd/cell/1st cell/ ground.

Up to the manufacturer to decide which way they plug the wires into the balance connector. IF it's backwards from how PZ set up theirs, you'll get an error.
Don't put a lot of faith in the stock PZ charger.....


As for your Hobbico, it's pretty straight forward. Page 17 of the manual gives you the proper sequence for charging a lipo. It will connect to the main leads on your pack.
You'll have to have a correct adapter cable, banana plugs on one end for the charger, and one to match your battery plug on the other end.

NOTE: The Hobbico is NOT a balance charger. You need to balance a lipo for longest life and best performance. That's why your PZ charger had you plug the balance connector into it to charge your pack.
You will need a stand alone balancer. No biggie. Look up an Astro BLINKY. It plugs right into the balance connector on your battery. Does all the work for you.
Glacier Girl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 05:27 PM
  #3
outacontrol41
Thread Starter
 
outacontrol41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Girdletree, MD
Posts: 1,808
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Can I replace stock lipo battery for Typhoon 2?

Thank you Glacier Girl...very helpful information.
outacontrol41 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:49 AM.