Community
Search
Notices
Electric Aerobatic & Sport Planes Discuss rc electric aerobatics and rc sport flyers here.

Hobby King Yak 54 30ep

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2012, 07:50 AM
ATVAlliance

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hobby King Yak 54 30ep

Wife bought me one of these for Christmas and I spent my vacation between Christmas and New Years putting it together. I have alarger gas Yak54 that I havent flown yet and wanteda smaller one that would get me used to this type of airframe...soI talked her into it.

I already had all of the electronics so it definitely was a budget build. I just have to say that even though I am really new to the hobby(just my 2nd full year flying)...this is one of the best planes I have in my hangar. I flew it for the first time yesterday and was blown away by how great a flier it is...especially for a cheap HK plane.

The plane is very well put together for one that comes in at this price point. The hardware was pretty good...I only replaced the CAhinges with better CAhinges. Otherwise I used all of the rest of the hardware.

The finish on this plane is excellent...and since its EP...no worries that it will start coming undone.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=18224

I powered it with a Turnigy 3548 900kv motor which is a PERFECT fit for this plane and a 11x5.5 prop (motor calls for 11x6 on 5 cells but allI could find locally was the 5.5 pitch one) and it pulls about 42 amps at almost 800 watts! Needless to say it has plenty of power for my skill set.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=3888

Again...from my spare parts bin I found a 100 amp ESC that was overkill...but it was already there not being used. Had to use a BEC since this ESC has none...again, parts bin.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=3735