Electric Aerobatic & Sport Planes Discuss rc electric aerobatics and rc sport flyers here.

Wattage Pitts tested

Reply
Old 05-09-2004, 08:05 PM
  #1
GWR
Thread Starter
 
GWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 797
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Wattage Pitts tested

I just flew my Wattage Pitts Special Bipe for the first time. It weighs 26 ounces with a Mega 16/15-6, an APC 8x4e prop, and a TP 2100 3 cell. It flew very well with this set up. It does need more aileron throw and it needed a few clicks of down. It flipped when it landed because of the grass. I'll probably put on bigger wheels but otherwise, I'm very satisfied. Gary
GWR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2004, 08:41 PM
  #2
777
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Winfield, KS
Posts: 301
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

Thanks for posting that, Gary. Those Pitts look sweet. I'm tempted.

Thanks again,
Brad
777 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 12:30 AM
  #3
ZAGI-XS-=FatalFlyer=-
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oak Park, CA
Posts: 390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

Gary, will you have any videos of it? I'd love to compare it with the wattahe ultimate bipe.
ZAGI-XS-=FatalFlyer=- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 08:03 AM
  #4
GWR
Thread Starter
 
GWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 797
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

Sorry, no videos. Gary
GWR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2004, 11:58 AM
  #5
GWR
Thread Starter
 
GWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 797
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

Update. The plane is still flying well. One change needed. The interplane struts are made of a thin plastic and they're starting to crack and break. If anyone decides to get one, re-inforce the area where the strut bolts to the lower wing. I'm going to try using ca hinge material to fix it. The strut is glued to the upper wing and it seems alright there. Gary
GWR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 11:08 PM
  #6
Tommignon
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

How is it for spins, inverted, stalls and other fun things? I love my wattage Extra. Just changed to a cobri gear box from
e-flightline.com with himax and 3.78 ratio and 3 blade 8/6 prop can't wait to fly. used to have jeti 15-3 on it it was nose heavy. i use tanic 10C 2200mah cells. will they fit in the Pitts. that is one great looking plane.
Tommignon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2004, 11:36 PM
  #7
ZAGI-XS-=FatalFlyer=-
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oak Park, CA
Posts: 390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

Someone get some videos of their wattage pitts, I need to see this plane fly. lol I knew if I got one I'd probally crash it on take off. Since its a 140 dollar kit from www.hobbypeople.net, I'm not going to take the risk
ZAGI-XS-=FatalFlyer=- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 08:57 AM
  #8
gquiring
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 48
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

I captured some video of Gary R flying his Wattage Pitts last week. It flies very well but does not like grass landings. It is a very nice looking plane.

http://edison.qdigi.com/rc/WattagePitts.wmv
gquiring is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2004, 01:22 AM
  #9
ZAGI-XS-=FatalFlyer=-
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oak Park, CA
Posts: 390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

great video!!! I've always wanted to see that plane fly. How does it do rolls? Are the rolls axile?
ZAGI-XS-=FatalFlyer=- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2004, 07:23 PM
  #10
GWR
Thread Starter
 
GWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 797
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

I rolls nice but slow. I was adding more throw to get it to roll faster but I did a face plant while hand launching it and bent the motor shaft. I'll have to straighten the shaft before I do anymore flying. GWR
GWR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2004, 09:47 PM
  #11
GWR
Thread Starter
 
GWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 797
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

It looks like the prop adapter bent and not the motor shaft; whew! I'm also going to add some down thrust to stop the climbing. Still needs more aileron throw. GWR
GWR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 08:39 AM
  #12
whitewater111
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

Gary,
I saw the video of your plane. Looks like a great flyer.
What kind of average flight times are you getting with the 3S 2100's?
Thanks, Erik
whitewater111 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2004, 08:08 PM
  #13
GWR
Thread Starter
 
GWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 797
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

I haven't timed any of the flights so far. I usually fly about 10 minutes. I've yet to have the BEC kick in and I always check the battery voltage after I land and it's always over 11 volts, usually about 11.25. GWR
GWR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 10:32 PM
  #14
MrPheer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 89
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

I'm impressed... i'm going to drive down to hobby people tomorrow and buy one. I almost bought it yesterday but changed my mind at the last minute.

Since i moved to Las Vegas a year and a half ago I havent flown anything. I had 12 large gas powered planes in texas but sold them before I moved. Have no place to store them here.

After seeing that video I'm definately getting one of these small planes.
MrPheer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2004, 10:58 AM
  #15
GWR
Thread Starter
 
GWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 797
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

If you haven't flown in a year and a half, maybe you should start with something a little less aerobatic. If your going to Hobby People, take a look at the Super Impress first. Of coarse any plane you get you should trash the stock motor and get a brushless. GWR
GWR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 06:16 PM
  #16
MrPheer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 89
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

I've been flying for 17 years total and stay current on my simulators. I'll take my zagi up before flying the pitts. Just bought it today, I should have it flying by the weekend. Sure is a nice little airplane.
MrPheer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 06:46 PM
  #17
ZAGI-XS-=FatalFlyer=-
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oak Park, CA
Posts: 390
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

ZAGI'S RULE!!!!
ZAGI-XS-=FatalFlyer=- is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 08:16 PM
  #18
DJT
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southlake, TX
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

Gary,

It sounded like you were having so much fun with your Pitts I had to get one. Is that Mega motor 16/15/6 the motor you reccomend? Also what speed controller are you running? Thanks!

David
DJT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 01:09 AM
  #19
GWR
Thread Starter
 
GWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 797
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

I tried that motor because a friend had the same one in a Wattage Cap232 and it flew good. There may be something better but why mess with success! We both use the Castle Creations Pheonix 25esc and a 3 cell Thunder Power 2100 LiPo pack and an APC 8x4E prop. Also, you should figure out a better way to mount the motor. The stock set up is very weak due to garbage plywood and breaks whenever the prop touches anything.
GWR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 08:08 PM
  #20
carlosre
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hacienda Heights, CA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

****
carlosre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 11:00 AM
  #21
GWR
Thread Starter
 
GWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 797
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

WOW! [sm=biggrin.gif]This thread is kinda old and people are still looking at it, [8D]COOL! Sorry the video don't work.[sm=eek.gif] I don't fly the Pitts anymore; I've gone all blue fan fold.If anyone's interested, I'll be selling the Pitts, less electrics, at the Lehigh Valley fly in in Pa next month.[sm=confused.gif]
GWR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 08:52 PM
  #22
carlosre
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hacienda Heights, CA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

I think you're making a mistake getting rid of your Pitts. I've been flying mine for approx. 6 mo. It actually took me three models to figure it out, but now it flies beautiful. The old color scheme is the best and repairs are simple. A few easy modifications from the factory stock and it does amazing things, AMAZING.
I started with the Wild Cat, but it was too easy, but then I got the Pitts 400. The ailerons were weak and thats bad for a plane with bad habits. I kept spinning it into the ground making any turn slower than 90% max speed. Thats how I began learning how to fix these WattAge models and how to modify them. Scavenge plastic to make patches just like tire patches on the body, you can rebuild a lot.
Cut ailerons into the top wing, 4 to 5 inches long......
Let me know if I need to go on, you might not be interested anymore. I have video.
FIx it and fly it in Pa.
carlosre is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2005, 02:23 PM
  #23
lmopar69
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Indian Mound, TN
Posts: 257
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

GWR, how much you want for the Pitts? Can you send me a PM? Thanks. Oh, do you take Iraqi Dinar? lol Dont worry, no one else does either. Not even Iraqis.

Laine
lmopar69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2005, 12:14 PM
  #24
tramsay
 
tramsay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: ERIE, CO
Posts: 203
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

I have had my eye on this plane for over a year now and am starting to get serious about getting one....

GWR,
Why are you not flying it anymore? Would you still recommend it? I have been flying the e-flite mini funtana, and love it!...but also want a bipe, and thought this looked perfect. I have himax 2025-4266 looking for a home, but it is a stick mount motor. Does the Wattage Pitts allow for a stickmount motor?

thanks in advance!
~Tip
tramsay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 02:34 PM
  #25
hiroman
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: bayside, NY
Posts: 23
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Wattage Pitts tested

hey. gwr Im planing to use the same motor on my pitts too... what aize prop and gear ratio are you planing to go with?
Quote:
ORIGINAL: tramsay

I have had my eye on this plane for over a year now and am starting to get serious about getting one....

GWR,
Why are you not flying it anymore? Would you still recommend it? I have been flying the e-flite mini funtana, and love it!...but also want a bipe, and thought this looked perfect. I have himax 2025-4266 looking for a home, but it is a stick mount motor. Does the Wattage Pitts allow for a stickmount motor?

thanks in advance!
~Tip
hiroman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:52 PM.