Notices
Electric Aerobatic & Sport Planes Discuss rc electric aerobatics and rc sport flyers here.

Plane for 100 x 200 field?

Old 07-09-2006, 09:01 AM
larrwill
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Plane for 100 x 200 field?

Looking for suggestions on an aerobatic plane for a small field 100' x 200'. I am new to electrics and bought a Mini Ultra Stick thinking this would do. While it is possible, the MUS is too fast and fragile to actually be fun in this small space.
Also, something really durable would be nice to fly low etc. without worry. I don't mind a profile, but prefer something with an airfoil wing over the flat style planes.

Thanks
Old 07-09-2006, 09:53 AM
Charley
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Plane for 100 x 200 field?

ORIGINAL: larrwill

Looking for suggestions on an aerobatic plane for a small field 100' x 200'. I am new to electrics and bought a Mini Ultra Stick thinking this would do. While it is possible, the MUS is too fast and fragile to actually be fun in this small space.
Also, something really durable would be nice to fly low etc. without worry. I don't mind a profile, but prefer something with an airfoil wing over the flat style planes.

Thanks
You might look at the GWS Tigermoth. It's a 3-channel foam bipe. Flies pretty slowly, looks good in the air . Don't know how aerobatic you want your plane to be. I have the larger, 4-channel, Tigermoth 400 version, think I could fly it in the space you have. Do you have tall trees around?

Cheers,

CR
Old 07-09-2006, 11:51 AM
normgoyer

Hi it is not the size of the field but what is on the boundaries. Any model is capable of taking off from that size but keeping it over that patch of ground would be a miracle unless you were an accomplihsed 3-D flyer or had a very light weight and slow and I mean slow airplane. Norm

suggest helicopters
Old 07-09-2006, 03:36 PM
Charley

ORIGINAL: normgoyer